Prescribed breeds

There are no 'banned' dog breeds in South Australia but there are five ‘prescribed breeds’ with restrictions that come with ownership.

Which breeds?

The five prescribed breeds are:

  • American Pit Bull Terrier;
  • Fila Braziliero;
  • Japanese Tosa;
  • Dogo Argentinia;
  • Presa Canario.

Prescribed breeds requirements

The person responsible for a prescribed breed is required to:

  • Effectively confine the dog to their property;
  • Muzzle the dog in public;
  • Keep the dog under the effective control by means of physical restraint in public;
  • Must produce evidence the dog is desexed, if requested by a council officer.

Prescribed breeds must not be sold or given away, or advertised it for purposes of sale or give away.